Eric Sahakyan: the boy who survived the war

You went to the army as other conscripts, but returned from war as a hero or Homeland defender. When did you realize that you were participating in the war efforts?

I had realized that I was participating in the war from the very first day when the war began.

How prepared were you to take part in the war? Were you warned that something like that might happen?

I could have never imagined that I would participate in the war. I did it!

Tell me about the hardest time during the war? Have you ever thought that it was the end?

The only hardest time was the day when I got injured and I saw the bodies of my friends and I thought that I would die, too, because my hand was bleeding so much that you could wash your hands under it.

Has peoples’ attitude changed towards you after the war?

The attitude of my friends hasn’t changed because all of my friends participated in the war and they are heroes, too. The attitude of strangers has changed a lot.

What advice would you give to future conscripts?

I would advise them to be careful what they do in army and not to be afraid of enemies.

What was the happiest moment in the war?

When they brought us our dinner, there was ketchup and juice and we were happy about those things.

Thank you. We all wish you quick recovery.

The interview was conducted by Levon Sahakyan, 12th grader within the framework of “People who inspire us” project

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started