Tigran Serobyan: a programmer who thinks about progress

At the time of interview Tigran Serobyan was 12th grader and Robotics team member who, together with Nazeli Ter-Petrosyan had participated in the national round of the World Robot Olympiad in 2019. In summer 2021 Tigran graduated from school and entered the Faculty of Radiophysics, Yerevan State University. During pedagogical camp from August 24 to 26 Tigran provided Training of Trainers (ToT) in High school IT lab. He taught Scratch block-based visual programming language and Basics of Robotics. As a result of ToT, the trained teachers will be able to carry out robotics projects for primary school students and to use Scratch in their math lessons.

What is your secret to effective learning? What are the nuts and bolts of your theory?

I don’t have any secret to effective learning. I think the best way of learning is being a teacher and questioning everything. Sometimes it’s hard to focus on something, in such situations I am just meditating for a few minutes.
You can find a thing that works best for you. Waking up early and starting your day with some important job may make you more productive. And don’t forget to award and praise yourself sometimes!

What issue made you think long?

I do programming with a great passion and like making already existing apps with a little twist. Once I decided to make an online pixel coloring game for everyone to be able to paint on the same canvas. At that time I had not enough knowledge of programming and faced a lot of problems and bugs. After lots of suffering, I put that project aside. For a long time, I didn’t remember about that project, but a year and a half ago I found my code and finished it.

DigiTech 2021

Have you found satisfactory solution to it?

Yes, I found the solution.

I think it’s very important to accomplish your work. After some time I open my work and take a look to see how I have changed, how I would do the same thing now, and that is where I can see my self-growth. If we find solutions very fast we will not have the experience which is very important for progress.

How do you find sources of inspiration?

I don’t have any special person or thing for inspiration. It just happens occasionally. However, I need some little inspirational things to keep going, like little awards on my journey. YouTube videos and films are usually those little inspirations.

What is music for you?

Marine Mkrtchyan’s video, provided by Sveta Tchagharyan

Music is a tool for me to convey mood and feelings. Music can help you find a good state of mind.

In my case music more often distracts me than helps to focus.

How does music help you for self-expression?
I am playing the piano for more than 8 years and when I am getting mad I love playing the piano for myself. I like to hear others expressing themselves via music, but I don’t like doing that. I don’t like showing off my emotions.

The interview was conducted within the framework of “People who inspire us” project by 11th grader Gayane Poghosyan.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started